Events | 20 May 2024

Managing tax risks for your client, the Australian resident

Australia is a destination of choice for globally mobile high-wealth individuals and family groups. The lure of Australia’s pristine beaches, vibrant cities and stable economy is irresistible to many. However, the Australian taxation system is riddled with complexities and risks. These complexities and risks only compound when there are multi-jurisdictional assets, entities and family members.

This webinar series is specifically tailored for our offshore colleagues, in particular legal and accounting advisors and trustees. Frank Hinoporos, Partner and Head of Tax, will discuss the key risk management issues that arise when navigating the complexities of the Australian tax system for your client, the Australian resident.

The webinar will cover:

  • the current tax compliance landscape in Australia and sources of tax risk;
  • tax residency for individuals, companies and trusts;
  • transfers of wealth from offshore structures to Australia;
  • transfers of wealth from Australian structures offshore;
  • strategies to actively manage and mitigate tax risk for clients and achieve compliance.

The webinar will address some of the ‘hot topics’ in Australian tax – including sections 99B and 100A of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1936 and recent legislative and case law developments.

Please register via your location section below. We hope you can join us.

Should you have any questions about this webinar series, please contact our Events team.

Asia-Pacific region

Webinar details
Date Monday 20 May 2024
Time 12.30pm – 1.30pm SGT
(2.30 pm - 3.30 pm AEST)

United States

Webinar details
Date Tuesday 21 May 2024
Time 9.00am – 10.00am EDT
(11.00 pm - 12.00 am AEST)

United Kingdom

Webinar details
Date Wednesday 22 May 2024
Time 9.00am – 10.00am BST
(6.00 pm - 7.00 pm AEST)

Presenters

Frank Hinoporos

Partner & Head of Tax

Hall & Wilcox